Tuesday, 9th Feb 2021 at 12 noon GMT

Register here

To check the corresponding time in your country please check this link:

We have so many tools and means to practice radiation safety. The transition from radiation safety to radiation safety culture occurs when we are able to make everyone involved practice safety. Thus, radiation safety culture has much to do with establishing culture. Experts from 4 major international organizations shall deliberate on this important topic and will cover both diagnostic and therapeutic activities in which staff in medical institutions are involved with.
Organizer and moderator: Prof. Madan Rehani, IOMP
Speakers in alphabetical orders of organization (IAEA, IOMP, IRPA, WHO):
Dr. Debbie Gilley, IAEA
Dr. Madan Rehani, IOMP
Dr. Bernard le Guen, IRPA
Dr. Maria Perez, WHO 
Dr. Debbie Gilley is a Radiation Protection Specialist with the International Atomic Energy Agency in the Division of Radiation, Transport and Waste Safety Radiation Protection of Patients Unit. Her activities within the Agency included the development and implementation of the Safety in Radiation Oncology medical event reporting system (SAFRON), assisting in IAEA patient protection and safety campaigns and assisting countries in supporting radiation protections of patient activities. She is a contributing author of several IAEA publications on patient safety and a chapter in the recently published book entitled “Modern Technology of Radiation Oncology” and “Radiotherapy in Cancer Care: Facing the Global Challenge”.
Past professional responsibilities include Government Relations Specialist with the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) Twenty-four years of service to the Florida Bureau of Radiation Control, United States as Manager of the Training and Quality Assurance Program, Manager of the Radioactive Materials Program, Academically she has an undergraduate and master’s degree from Florida State University and attended Oak Ridge Associated Universities.

Dr. Madan M. Rehani is Director, Global Outreach for Radiation Protection at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, USA.He is President, International Organization for Medical Physics (2018-2021). He was earlier Radiation Safety Specialist at the International Atomic Energy Agency for 11 years and prior to that Professor and Head of Medical Physics at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India. Dr. Rehani is a Member, International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP). He is author of 8 Annals of ICRP, 4 of which as Chair of the Task Group. He is Senior editor BJR, Assoc Editor Medical Physics. He has more than 155 publications, has written 39 chapters in Books and has edited 5 books. He has published papers in high impact factor journals e.g. JAMA Intern Med, Br Med J, Eur Heart J, Cardiovascular Imaging, Am J Gastroenterol, Circulation J, The Lancet.

Dr Bernard le Guen is the IRPA President for 2021-2024 and was the IRPA Executive officer since 2012. Bernard le Guen is a medical Doctor (MD) and specialising in occupational medicine, in medical biology and in Radiation Protection. He is a senior fellow expert for Radiation Protection and Health for the EDF group. He is Chairman of the CEPN Governing Board (Nuclear Health Physics Research Centre) which assesses measures taken to protect the public from hazards associated with ionising radiation (technical, economic, social and health-related aspects). He received 2 awards from the American HPS in recognition of his contribution to radiation protection, the R.S. Landauer Award in 2011 and the William Morgan Award in 2019 . He launched an IRPA international initiative on Radiation Protection Culture in 2008, published an IRPA guidance on this subject in 2014 and is one of the co –author of the new common guidance on Safety Culture in Health Care.

Dr María del Rosario Pérez is a physician who worked in the field of radiation protection for more than 3 decades. She received her M.D. in 1980 from the School of Medicine of the Buenos Aires University (Argentina). She completed her professional education on Diagnostic Imaging and Radiotherapy and worked as radiation oncologist at a public hospital until 1990. After obtaining a post-graduate diploma on Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety she worked at the National Atomic Energy Commission (CNEA) and the Nuclear Regulatory Authority (ARN). Since 2007 she works at the WHO Radiation and Health Unit in Geneva (Switzerland). She represents WHO at the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR), the IAEA Radiation Safety Standards Committee (RASSC), the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP), the EC Art 31 Group of Experts and the Inter-Agency Committee on Radiation Safety (IACRS), which she is currently chairing.
Joint IAEA–IOMP–CIRSE webinar: What’s new in understanding radiation risks for patients in interventional procedures | IAEA
23 February 2021, 2 pm CET
Moderator: Jenia Vassileva (IAEA)
Presenters: Madan Rehani (IOMP), Werner Jaschke (CIRSE)
Joint IAEA–IOMP webinar: Patients Undergoing Recurrent CT Imaging: Managing Cumulative Doses | IAEA
16 March 2021, 2 pm CET
Moderator: Jenia Vassileva (IAEA)
Presenter: Madan Rehani (IOMP)